top of page

The Blessing of having a Nana




My grandmother used to tell us to be grateful for what we had. However, at the age of 7, I did not understand what that meant because we did not have much. When we were at our bare minimum, she told us to take what we had and make what we wanted. Boy did that come in handy as a woman, wife, and mom. You see, my grandmother was what the world would've considered poor. She was a maid for part of her life, and if any of you saw the movie or read the book The Help, it epitomizes what my Nana was and did. She would have to sit on the back of the bus as was required at that time just to go to work. Nana had many things that happened to her which she never spoke of but were deeply implied. And sometimes bits and pieces would come out during conversations but were too painful to share. There were conversations about one particular store (which would go nameless). She never went to because of what was done and said to her. However, she always held her head high and loved Jesus through it all. In her 60's one summer day, she got a carload of children all 6 of us ( my mom, later on, had more beautiful siblings for whom I am grateful for). We were only supposed to stay for the summer but that summer became many summers in fact too many to count. She took us in and became the mother we all so desperately needed. No, we did not have the best clothes and shoes but we had the best teacher on how to live in this world with nothing and make something out of it. We learned to cook( all six of us including my brother) take care of a home, sew, bake, respect for our elders and the list can go on and on, but most of all she gave us Jesus. The Jesus who took 5 loaves of bread and two fish and fed a multitude (Mat.14:13-21). My nana, not only fed us but anyone she knew was hungry she would always have extras to share. Nana lived in a 2 bedroom trailer and the majority of that time raised us there. She taught us to trust God even when we had little because God as she would say will always make away and He always did.

My grandmother was a prayer warrior, many times I would wake up in the middle of the night and I would see her on her knees praying and thank the Lord she prayed us through many things. Her legacy of faith did not go unnoticed if you would ask any of my six siblings they would say the same thing. I use to love to lay my head on her lap as she braided my hair. I hated the style but Loved her lap and her old hymns and prayers she would sing and pray over me. Now that I am a grandma I pray I would leave a legacy of Christ for my grandchildren. How He showed up and showed out in my life in so many ways and how he can do the same for them.

Here is one of the songs my nana would sing before she would pray.


What a friend we have in Jesus All our sins and griefs to bear And what a privilege to carry Everything to God in prayer

Oh, what peace we often forfeit Oh, what needless pain we bear All because we do not carry Everything to God in prayer

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere? We should never be discouraged Take it to the Lord in prayer

Can we find a friend so faithful Who will all our sorrows share? Jesus knows our every weakness Take it to the Lord in prayer



32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page