top of page

Hold on Tightly

Okay, picture this. I use to love getting on rides at the amusement park until one day I didn't. I can recall the exact moment when I decided I was better off watching my kids ride rides more than I like getting on them myself.

It was at Carowinds Amusement Park in Charlotte North Carolina one hot summer day. I had my nieces and nephews for a week and one of our excursions was to the amusement park. We all were so excited about getting on all the rides.

So my niece and I got on a ride that entailed going slow around a circle. I thought to myself, this is easy! The ride began to go nice and slow up the hill. My niece and I were laughing and talking until we saw what was ahead of us. I was trying to console her while I was trying not to freak out myself. I reminded her of the seat belts and drop-over locks we had to put on so we wouldn't fall off the ride, but we had to hold on real tight! Well, as we continued to go up an incline the ride stopped at the very top of the hill and the guy again told us to Hold on Tightly, and just like that, we proceeded to go down fast! My niece screamed and held on to me tight. I was screaming and crying while I held both of us on the ride. Boy, when that ride ended we both were a bit shaken up. However, she went on the ride at least two more times but without me! Yep, she decided she didn't need me to ride that particular ride, all she had to do was make sure she was locked in good and Hold on Tightly and she would be just fine.

The bible says in Hebrews 10:23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

When life seems unyielding and just plain hard we have the assurance that no matter what, God is Faithful. Isaiah 41:10 tells us, Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.

Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you and help you.

I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

God is a Promise Keeper! So, Hold on Tightly and don't let go of His Unchanging Hand!



24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page